published August 22, 2013

SCEWestNet Gathers at SSI 2013 to Share Progress and Plan Future Work

Amanda Moodie, NCSCE

At this year's SENCER Summer Institute, the Science and Civic Engagement Western Network (SCEWestNet) nodal leaders and partners gathered for their second annual meeting. Facilitated by Jonathan Bucki and Amy Shachter, SCEWestNet project director, the group discussed their progress thus far and made work plans for the year to come. Representatives from all seven nodes attended the pre-Institute meetings and stayed for the duration of the Summer Institute. Mercedes Talley, the program director for Science, Engineering and Liberal Arts at the W.M. Keck Foundation, which supports SCEWestNet, joined participants at SSI for discussions.

About the sessions, Amy Shachter noted, "SSI 2013 provided an excellent opportunity for SCEWestNet participants to connect to the SENCER project and plan activities for the next year. Several nodes have made extraordinary progress, especially Hui o Moku, led by Bob Franco, and the Pioneer Node, led by Gary Booth."
The Hui o Moku Node, based in Hawai'i, has gotten off to a great start with seven SENCERized courses developed and four additional offerings in the planning stages. These courses are being offered at four different institutions throughout the Hawaiian Islands.

Similarly, Gary Booth and the Pioneer Node have created and implemented seven SENCER courses with help from faculty at Brigham Young University, Brigham Young University-Idaho, Regis University, and Utah Valley State University. Along with strengthening their new emerging courses, for the coming academic year, the Pioneer Node plans to implement a better strategy to involve students in the course development process.

All nodal partnerships offered details of course development efforts undertaken, meetings held, and challenges faced. They shared their plans for future activities. The Alaska Node, represented by Lawrence Duffy, Lisa Hoferkamp, and Todd Radenbaugh provided a comprehensive description of their work during a concurrent session, "Promoting Educational Diversity Using Place-Based Science."

According to Jonathan Bucki, who helped facilitate the planning sessions, "the work plans developed at SSI 2013 should lead to a very promising year ahead for the SCEWestNet project. What we are learning from our Keck Foundation-supported venture will be highly useful to the National Center as it endeavors to help its regional centers for innovation achieve the goals of strengthening the SENCER community of practice." Future issues of the eNews will highlight individual nodal plans and accomplishments.

In attendance at SSI 2013 were faculty and academic leaders who came from eleven states and nearly 25 different institutions throughout the Western region of the United States. The Nodes and their associated leaders include:

Alaska Node

  • Lawrence Duffy, University of Alaska Fairbanks
  • Lisa Hoferkamp, University of Alaska Southeast
  • Todd Radenbaugh, University of Alaska Bristol Bay Campus
California Node
  • Steven Bachofer, Saint Mary's College of California
  • Mary Colavito, Santa Monica College
  • Amy Shachter, Santa Clara University
Hui o Moku Node
  • Norman Arancon, University of Hawai'I at Hilo
  • Oceana Francis, University of Hawai'I at Manoa
  • Robert Franco, Kapi'olani Community College
  • Ulla Hasager, University of Hawai'I at Manoa
  • David Krupp, Winward Community College
  • Lisa Parr, University of Hawai'I at Hilo
  • Michelle Smith, Winward Community College
Lone Star Node
  • John Estes, Belhaven University
  • Karen Glenn, Austin College
  • Blake Harwell, Holmes Community College Ridgeland
  • Alana Presley, University of North Texas
  • Richard Sheardy, Texas Woman's University
  • Brian Wheeler, University of North Texas
Montana Node
  • Garon Smith, University of Montana
Pacific Northwest Node
  • PJ Alaimo, Seattle University
  • Rebekah Green, Western Washington University
  • Stasinos Stavrianeas, Willamette University
  • Mark Stewart, Willamette University
  • Ruth Sofield, Western Washington University
Pioneer Node
  • Gary Booth, Brigham Young University
  • Steven Christenson, Brigham Young University Idaho
  • Michael Ghedotti, Regis University
  • Catherine Kleier, Regis University
  • Olga Kopp, Utah Valley University
  • Wayne Whaley, Utah Valley University