published February 7, 2013

NCSCE Accepting Nominations for Bennett Award

The William E. Bennett Award for Extraordinary Contributions to Citizen Science is given annually to an individual and a team whose SENCER and other related activities have made exemplary and extraordinary contributions to citizen science. The award was established by NCSCE and named in honor of its first recipient for his lifetime contributions to citizen science. The first award was presented to its namesake at a ceremony on Capitol Hill on March 31, 2009. Since 2009, recipients have included teams from Butler University, Indiana State University, and Roosevelt University. Individual awardees include Dr. Marion Field Fass and Dr. Cathy Middlecamp.

To nominate an individual or team, please send a letter that will allow the review committee to assess the individual or team's contributions to citizen science. A CV for the nominated individual/team members should be included, and up to two supporting letters of support may be submitted but are not required. The deadline to submit a nomination for a team or individual is February 25. Nominations may be emailed to