Numeracy and Quantitative Reasoning > The Numeracy Infusion Course for Higher Education

The Numeracy Infusion Course for Higher Education (NICHE)

The materials presented on this website represent one component of our Numeracy Infusion Course for Higher Education (NICHE). In addition, we have developed a series of interactive online modules designed for faculty from across the disciplines that provide instruction for teaching QR to students. Our 8-week online course focuses on the following topics: (1) QR and Making Numbers Meaningful; (2) QR Learning Outcomes; (3) The Brain, Cognition and QR; (4) QR and Writing; (5) Discovery Methods; (6) Representations of Data; (7) QR Assessment; and (8) QR Stereotypes and Culture.

If you have any questions about NICHE and/or are interested in participating in this course, please contact Esther Isabelle Wilder (ewilder@gc.cuny.edu). We also welcome feedback and suggestions for this website!

The CUNY NICHE Development Team

Esther Wilder, Principal Investigator, Lehman College (ewilder@gc.cuny.edu)

Elin Waring, Faculty Liaison and Senior Researcher, Lehman College (elin.waring@gmail.com)

Frank Wang, co-Principal Investigator, LaGuardia Community College (fwang@lagcc.cuny.edu)

Dene Hurley, co-Principal Investigator, Lehman College (dthurley@optonline.net)

The CUNY NICHE QR Alliance

Prabha Betne, Faculty Liaison, LaGuardia Community College (pbetne@lagcc.cuny.edu)

Laura Broughton, Faculty Liaison, Bronx Community College (laura.broughton@bcc.cuny.edu)

Margaret Carroll, Faculty Liaison, Medgar Evers College (margie@mec.cuny.edu)

Judith Duncker, Research Consultant, Lehman College (judith.duncker@lehman.cuny.edu)

Althea Forde, Lehman College Advisory Committee, Lehman College (althea.forde@lehman.cuny.edu)

Sandra Kingan, Faculty Liaison, Brooklyn College (skingan@brooklyn.cuny.edu)

Robert Whittaker, Lehman College Advisory Committee, Lehman College (robert.whittaker@cuny.lehman.edu)

Marcie Wolfe, Lehman College Advisory Committee, Lehman College (marcie.wolfe@lehman.cuny.edu)

Assessment and External Consultants

Flora McMartin, Broad-based Knowledge, LLC (Assessment Coordinator)

William Frey, University of Michigan (External Consultant)

Katherine Rowell, Sinclair Community College (External Consultant)

Stephen Sweet, Ithaca College (External Consultant)

Corrine Taylor, Wellesley College (External Consultant)

Special Thanks

Special thanks to Stephen Castellano and Alyson Vogel at Lehman College and to William H. Walters at Menlo College for their technical support and enthusiasm for this project. We also acknowledge the extremely helpful feedback provided by the Lehman College 2012-2013 Quantitative Reasoning (QR) fellows including Tzuhao (T) Huang, Hsien-Tseng (Elvin) Wang, Rebecca West, and Ruifang (Grace) Xu. Their assistance has been greatly appreciated!

Sample Materials from NICHE

Exercise #1: Graphing your Course along a QR Spectrum. For this brief exercise, we want you to review the definitions of quantitative and reasoning from Merriam-Webster's dictionary (Acrobat (PDF) 53kB May2 13). After studying these definitions, please think about a specific course you teach (it could be anything)! After you have picked your course, please graph where you think it would currently fall based on (a) how quantitative it is, and (b) how much reasoning it involves. Please indicate where your course falls by placing a marking, such as a star (or your initials or some other symbol), on this graph. You can do this very easily by double-clicking on the graph and then inserting a shape (the insert option will automatically appear when you double-click on the graph). Then you will want to move the shape (or your initials) where it belongs (and you will likely want to reduce the size of the shape or the font of your initials). As an example, I have chosen a smiley face and graphed it on this chart. After you graph your course on the chart, please go to the bottom of the graph and identify yourself, indicate the symbol you used, noting what course it represents and why you graphed it where you did.

Exercise #2: Graphing the Three Little Pigs. Please watch the Kurt Vonnegut video which illustrates the use of a line graph to tell a story. After you watch that, please watch the "Three Little Pigs Silly Symphony" (also below). After you finish watching the video of the three little pigs, please graph the story using flockdraw and write about your graph here. You should graph the story in whatever way feels right to you (e.g., choose whatever perspective you want). Please follow the following directions.

(1) When you open up "flockdraw," click on "create your own session." This will open a drawing page and you can draw your graph. The drawing tools are pretty self-explanatory, but please label your graph.

(2) When you are finished with your graph, click on the floppy disk to the right of your graph to save it. When you do that, you get a URL that you will want to note.

(3) When you write about your graph, be sure to provide a link to the URL of the graph that you have drawn so that we can all see it.

(4) After you have graphed your story of "The Three Little Pigs," please explain why you graphed the story the way you did.

Kurt Vonnegut on the Shape of Stories

loading the player

The Three little Pigs Silly Symphony

loading the player


Financial Support

Support for this project has been provided by the National Science Foundation's (NSF) Transforming Undergraduate Education in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) (TUES) award #1121844. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this web site are those of the authors and do not necessarily represent the views of the National Science Foundation.

NSF Logo



« Previous Page      Next Page »