« Mineralogy Discussions

MPG Foundations of Geology  

Mineralogy, petrology, and geochemistry (MPG) provide the foundations for interpreting Earth. The principles of the MPG disciplines are widely used in sister geoscience disciplines:
--the role of crystal defects in deformation processes;
--thermobarometry, geochronology in developing PTt paths used in tectonic models;
--physical properties of minerals used to interpret seismic records....

PLEASE ADD YOUR OWN EXAMPLES OF APPLICATIONS OF MINERALOGY, PETROLOGY AND GEOCHEMISTRY IN SUPPORT OF BROADER GEOSCIENCE RESEARCH PROJECTS. It would be great to have a comprehensive list developed to clearly show where MPG methods and data are used throughout the Earth sciences.

413:1231

Share edittextuser=7 post_id=1231 initial_post_id=0 thread_id=413

Most of the examples often used are really chemistry but they must be taught as mineralogy. I am long an emeritus professor but I continue to have strong interest. As an undergraduate I took a year (2, Four Hour courses) of mineralogy courses and there was a great deal of memory work. Happily I never taught mineralogy that way rather I concentrated on crystalography and crystal chemistry in hopes that students would view the course as real science. I was often told that my mineralogy course was a very enlightening but tough. We did little about the distribution of minerals or rock types or their modes of formation, that was left for petrology and geochemistry courses that followed. In Min. we also covered principles and some application of x-ray methods and an introduction to optics but that was mostly covered in another course. That kind of material, I believe is the necessary support of broader geoscience topics and stands as a strong foundation for geology that is to follow and the methods of science in general. If you do not understand crystal chemistry you will never understand crystal defects to use one of your examples. Maybe this approach is sort of old fashioned but