On the Cutting Edge Career Development Webinars

published Jan 4, 2012 1:38pm

Registration is now open for upcoming On the Cutting Edge Pursuing an Academic Career Webinar Series events:


January 20, 2012 (Friday): Preparing for an academic job interview in the geosciences
Leaders: Rachel Beane, Bowdoin College; Heather Macdonald, College of William and Mary; Michael Williams, University of Massachusetts
2 pm Eastern | 1 pm Central | 12 pm Mountain | 11 am Pacific

February 15, 2012 (Wednesday): Learning to learn: What will they remember in five years?
Leader: Karl Wirth, Macalester College
2 pm Eastern | 1 pm Central | 12 pm Mountain | 11 am Pacific

March 9, 2012 (Friday): Linking goals, assessment and teaching strategies to promote effective learning
Leader: David McConnell, North Carolina State University
2 pm Eastern | 1 pm Central | 12 pm Mountain | 11 am Pacific

April 10, 2012 (Tuesday): Setting goals for effective and innovative courses
Leader: Barbara Tewksbury, Hamilton College
1:30 pm Eastern | 12:30pm Central | 11:30 am Mountain | 10:30 am Pacific (1.5 hrs)

May, 2012: Developing a thriving research program and balancing it with teaching, service and other passions
Leaders: Rachel Beane, Bowdoin College; Michael Williams, University of MassachusettsRegistration - $20 (50 maximum). Registration closes when the spaces fill or one week before each event, whichever comes first.

These webinars will be conducted using the Blackboard Collaborate software package (formerly Elluminate) for presentations, screen sharing and real-time chat between participants and presenters. Audio will be handled through a separate conference call telephone line. Instructions for connecting will be provided to registered participants closer to each event.

Registration - There is no registration fee, but registration is required to save a space (and because space is limited in each event, be sure you can commit before registering). Registration closes when the spaces fill or one week prior to the event, whichever comes first. Please complete the form linked from the monthly event page to register. Registered participants will receive an email with instructions detailing how to log into the event approximately one week prior to the event. You may register for a single webinar or for multiple.

Please join in on our discussion board leading up to and following up on our workshops.
Any questions? Feel free to contact us.

Pursuing an Academic Career Webinar Planning Team
Monica Bruckner – Science Education Resource Center (SERC) at Carleton College
Rachel Beane – Bowdoin College
Michael Williams – University of Massachusetts


More News »